Standards and Funding - Home Care

Standards and Funding

Commonwealth Home Care Standards

All aged care services are required to meet the three Accreditation Standards and 18 expected outcomes across these Standards:

  • Standard One: Effective management
  • Standard Two: Appropriate access and service delivery
  • Standard Three: Service user rights and responsibilities

Further details are available on the Home Care Common Standards factsheet (233kb pdf)

While no specific standards identify palliative care and advance care planning, meeting all outcomes across the three standards will support palliative care and advance care planning for your clients and their families.

Aged Care Quality Standards
From 1 July 2019 organisations providing Commonwealth subsidised care services are required to comply with the Aged Care Quality Standards, which include end of life care and advance care planning. For information on the new standards, see the Guidance and Resources for Providers webpages.
National Palliative Care Standards
Palliative Care Australia have released the 5th edition of the National Palliative Care Standards (371kb pdf). These standards are useful to refer to when reviewing palliative care and advance care planning in your organisation.
Aged Care Service Funding

The Government pays for the majority of aged care services provided in Australia by paying subsidies and supplements for care to providers.

The Commonwealth Home Support Program (CHSP) provides entry-level home support for frail older people who need assistance to keep living independently. Services include social support, transport, help with domestic chores, personal care, home maintenance, home modification, nursing care, meals and allied health services. Clients pay a contribution (which varies between providers) towards the cost of services and CHSP providers receive Australian Government funding through grant agreements. The CHSP operates in every state and territory except for Western Australia, where the Western Australian HACC Program continues to provide basic support services to older people as well as younger people with disabilities. CHSP clients are able to receive specialist palliative care services from their local health system in addition to their home support services but this needs to be arranged by the person’s GP or treating hospital.

The Home Care Packages Programme (HCP) is available for people who require more care than can be provided by Commonwealth Home Support Programme (CHSP).  HCPs assist older people to stay at home (rather than entering residential aged care) and provide ongoing personal and support services and clinical care. Each package of services is individually tailored to the client’s needs according to the principles of Consumer-Directed Care (CDC).

There are four levels of HCP, ranging from Home Care Level 1 (supporting people with basic care needs) to Home Care Level 4 (supporting people with high care needs). Clients are expected to contribute to the cost of their care. People receiving HCPs are able to receive specialist palliative care services from their local health service.

Page updated 30 January 2019