Standards and Funding - Residential Aged Care

Standards and Funding

Commonwealth Residential Aged Care Standards

All residential aged care services are required to meet the four Accreditation Standards and 44 expected outcomes across these Standards:

Standard One:

Management systems, staffing and organisational development

Standard Two:

Health and personal care

Standard Three: 

Care recipient lifestyle

Standard Four:

Physical environment and safe systems

Further details are available on the Accreditation Standards factsheet (286kb pdf).

Aged Care Quality Standards
From 1 July 2019 organisations providing Commonwealth subsidised care services are required to comply with the Aged Care Quality Standards, which include end of life care and advance care planning. For information on the new standards, see the Guidance and Resources for Providers webpages.

National Palliative Care Standards

Palliative Care Australia have released the 5th edition of the National Palliative Care Standards (371kb pdf). These standards are useful to refer to when reviewing palliative care and advance care planning in your organisation.

ACFI Funding Instrument

Funding for residential aged care is provided through completion of the Aged Care Funding Instrument (ACFI). ACFI Section 12 (Complex Health Care) Question 14 allows a service to claim funding for a palliative care program involving end-of-life care where ongoing care will involve very intensive clinical nursing and/or complex pain management in the residential aged care. See the ACFI tool (467kb pdf) for funding requirements.

Page updated 07 May 2019