Educator Resources - Home Care

Educator Resources

VET Sector Toolkits

The Palliative Care Curriculum for Undergraduates (PCC4U) website offers VET Sector Toolkits developed by the Palliative Care Education and Training Collaborative. These are online suites of resources mapped to units of competency for various health training packages and are free to access after registering.

  • First Nations (Multiple UoC)
  • Care Workers (CHCPAL003)
  • Care Workers (CHCPAL001)
  • Cultural Safety (CHCDIV002)
  • Enrolled Nurses (HLTENN068)


The Palliative Care Curriculum for Undergraduates (PCC4U) website includes several learning modules developed by the Palliative Care Education and Training Collaborative. Note that even though the name is targeted for undergraduates, the learning modules are open and free to everyone.\

Core modules:

  • Module 1: Principles of palliative care
  • Module 2: Communicating with people affected by life-limiting illnesses
  • Module 3: Assessing and managing symptoms
  • Module 4: Optimising function in palliative care.

There are also focus topics on:

  • Multidisciplinary care
  • Caring for Australian Indigenous Peoples affected by life-limiting illness • Culture-centred care of people with life-limiting illnesses.

Becoming a Grief Counsellor

The Australian Centre for Grief and Bereavement (ACGB) offers a Graduate Certificate in Bereavement Counselling and Intervention (22264VIC) through a blended mode of delivery (online and face to face) that requires payment for attendance. The certificate is a nationally recognised post-graduate VET qualification. The course is designed to provide current and appropriate training and education that are essential in providing effective bereavement counselling and intervention including the following course units:
  • VU21583 Apply concepts of grief and bereavement
  • VU21584 Provide bereavement counselling and support
  • VU21585 Provide appropriate interventions to support people experiencing complex bereavement
  • VU21586 Access services to support clients experiencing bereavement
  • CHCFCS806C Work within a clinical supervision framework
The ACGB have also developed the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support (22271VIC), which is a national accredited 12-month online course that includes 11 compulsory core units and requires payment for attendance.

Page updated 15 February 2024